Hackensack Lyft Accident Lawyers
Top-Rated Injury Lawyers Advocate for Clients Hurt in Bergen County Lyft Accidents
The Lyft ridesharing services has grown exponentially across New Jersey in recent years. Users simply tap their smartphones a few times to hail a ride—without worrying about cash payment upon drop off. For most, Lyft is a seamlessly convenient service. For accident victims, including Lyft in the equation can create significant complications in getting fair compensation.
At The Epstein Law Firm, P.A., our accident lawyers have helped thousands of injured clients get fair compensation after an accident. We are a full-service injury firm with over 120 years’ combined experience getting results for accident victims across New Jersey. We bring knowledge, experience and a reputation for winning cases to the table in every case we take on.
Involved In A Lyft Accident And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
Lyft offers significant savings for many New Jersey residents—in the form of lower priced, more convenient transportation. Accident victims, however, may quickly see their bills piling up as they struggle to recover from their injuries. Ironically, you may even have been hurt while using Lyft to keep others safe on the roads.
Many Lyft accident victims think that getting an insurance settlement is simple. Insurance companies, however, have virtually unlimited resources that they can use to convince you to accept a lower award. That’s why it is so important to have an experienced New Jersey Lyft accident lawyer by your side. To speak with our Lyft accident lawyers about options for recovering fair compensation in your case, schedule a free case review today.
Lyft Insurance Requirements
Lyft drivers are bound to be involved in car accidents at times. After all, there are thousands of Lyft vehicles on the roads at any given time. Because of this, New Jersey enacted an insurance law that specifically applies to ride-sharing companies like Lyft. If you were injured in a Lyft accident, the following general rules apply based upon the driver’s status:
- Offline. If the app was turned off, the driver’s own personal insurance policy applies (even if the driver has the Lyft sticker in the window).
- Searching for passengers. If the Lyft app is turned on, but the driver has not yet accepted a passenger, Lyft insurance provides (1) $50,000 in bodily injury or death coverage per person, (2) $100,000 in bodily injury or death coverage per accident and (3) $25,000 for any property damage.
- Passenger accepted. Once the Lyft driver accepts a passenger (even if only driving to pick up the passenger), Lyft’s $1.5 million commercial insurance policy kicks in.
These new rules are designed to protect Lyft passengers, pedestrians, and unrelated drivers from the confusion that can arise when a driver is using their personal vehicle for profit. Sometimes, their personal insurance policy might refuse to pay—leaving Lyft passengers and other injured parties without coverage.
In fact, New Jersey insurance law specifically provides that insurance companies are not required to provide coverage for drivers using the Lyft app–and if they do, they have the right to seek reimbursement from the Lyft policy.
It is important to remember that the mere availability of a large commercial policy does not mean the insurance company will offer a fair settlement. It just means that up to $1.5 million in coverage may be available. The skill and experience of your injury lawyer will be critical to making sure you get the highest available settlement. At The Epstein Law Firm, P.A., our talented accident lawyers are here to put our battle-tested skills to work for you.
Our Dedicated Accident Lawyers Fight to Get Fair Compensation for Your Lyft Accident Injuries
Unlike many big law firms, our accident lawyers are committed to handling your case personally. We know how important it is for you to have regular contact with your lawyer. Our philosophy is very simple: we keep you updated and we return your calls while we work tirelessly to get the maximum amount of compensation available in your case. Your fair Lyft accident compensation award should include compensation for:
- Medical bills. Even if you have health insurance, you are likely to have out-of-pocket expenses, co-pays and deductibles that add up quickly. We also make sure you get compensation to cover the cost of any ongoing physical therapy or rehab included in your treatment plan.
- Lost wages. Even passengers riding in the backseat of a Lyft may be seriously hurt. You may be out of work for days, weeks or even months without much needed income to pay your bills. Our skilled Lyft accident lawyers will make sure you get reimbursed for what you have lost during recovery and any earning potential your injury has diminished.
- Pain and suffering. Compensation for pain and suffering covers a number of more subjective elements of your injury. These damages include compensation for your physical pain, as well as the inconvenience the injury has caused.
Our Lyft accident lawyers go the extra mile to identify all available insurance coverage and help you understand the process for filing your claims. We can also help you evaluate the fairness of a settlement offer that you already have on the table—and can negotiate with the insurance company to increase that award.
Call The Epstein Law Firm, P.A. Today to Speak with an Experienced New Jersey Lyft Accident Lawyer
If you have been hurt in a Lyft accident or even lost a loved one, the experienced personal injury lawyers at The Epstein Law Firm, P.A. are here to help. We will conduct a comprehensive investigation of your accident designed to hold all negligent parties accountable.
We know that it’s important for you to focus on your recovery after an accident. However, New Jersey imposes a two-year time limit on your ability to bring a Lyft accident claim—and the sooner we get to work, the better. Contact us today for a free case review. Our lawyers can even come to the hospital to speak with you while you recover.
Frequently Asked Questions About Lyft Accident Claims
The value of any accident claim is based on a number of factors. We ask the following questions to try to arrive at an estimated range:
– How serious were your injuries?
– Are you expected to recover fully, or will the injury have a permanent impact?
– How long will your recovery take?
– Will your recovery impact your ability to work or care for your children?
– Will your recovery impact your ability to earn as much as you did before the accident in the future?
Yes. Under Lyft rules, a driver cannot qualify as a Lyft driver if they have more than three moving violations in the past three years. Drivers are also disqualified if they have had a suspended license in the past three years or a DWI in the past seven years. Drivers must be 21 years old and have a least a one-year driving history.