Drunk New Jersey driver in accident with a 9-year old passenger
January 9, 2012
The legal blood-alcohol limit in New Jersey is .08, but too many times drivers completely ignore this requirement. A New Jersey driver with a blood alcohol level of .23 was operating a pickup truck while giving a ride to a 9-year old passenger (who was not wearing a seat-belt), and the drunk driver subsequently rear-ended another vehicle and injured a 37-year old woman.
The driver of the pickup truck has now been charged with driving while intoxicated, driving while intoxicated with a minor-passenger in the vehicle, failing to place restrains on the minor child in the vehicle and for careless driving. The endangerment charge alone could mean 5 to 10 years in prison. An assault by auto charge that could be added on could mean 18 additional months in prison as well.
With all of these laws in place and considering the number of violations this particular driver is facing, this individual nevertheless got behind the wheel when he was obviously intoxicated. He put into danger a 9-year old child, a 37-year old woman that he subsequently injured, and everyone else that was out on the roadways while he was driving. The accident by the way occurred at 7:00 p.m. on a Saturday evening.
The individual driving while under the influence will likely end up in jail. Unfortunately, this does nothing to compensate the individual injured. In light of such conduct, individuals that choose to drink and drive should also be obligated to pay restitution to those that they injure. Perhaps then they may realize that their actions do have consequences to others as well as themselves.
Source: Bridgewater Patch, “Bridgewater Man Indicted in Drunken Motor Vehicle Crash,” by Audrey Levine, Jan. 4, 2012